Volume 75
Volume 76
Volume 77
Volume 78
Volume 79

Six honored for excellence in the classroom

Published (Volume 76, No. 31)

Six UTM faculty members were honored during the recent Honors Day program for outstanding achievements in scholarship, citizenship, teaching and advising.

The honors are some of the university’s most coveted faculty awards, including the Coffey Outstanding Teaching Award, the Cunningham Outstanding Teacher/Scholar Award, the Outstanding Adviser Award and the University of Tennessee National Alumni Association (UTNAA) Outstanding Teacher Award. The recipients are:

• Dr. Jim Fieser, associate professor of Philosophy, and Dr. Judy Maynard, associate professor of Sociology: Cunning-ham Outstanding Teacher/ Scholar Award. It is awarded annually to a faculty member who has demonstrated strength in teaching and made a contribution to the teaching profession through scholarly activities, extracurricular achievements and leadership responsibilities.

• Tomi McCutchen Parrish, Communications instructor, and Stan Sieber, professor of History: UTNAA Outstanding Teacher Award. Each year the UTNAA presents awards of $2,000 to faculty members on each of the UT campuses who have been selected as outstanding teachers.

• Dr. Desiree’ McCullough, assistant professor of Mathe-matics: Outstanding Adviser Award.  The Outstanding Ad-viser Award of $500 and a plaque is presented to the faculty member selected for demonstrating a caring attitude toward advisees, the ability to engage in developmental advising and other distinctive characteristics.

• Jenna Wright, English instructor: Coffey Outstanding Teaching Award. The Coffey Outstanding Teaching award of $5,000 was established in 1998 by Mai and Charlie Coffey. It is awarded annually to a faculty member who demonstrates strength in teaching and contributes to the teaching profession through extracurricular achievements, leadership qualities and scholarly activities.