Volume 75
Volume 76
Volume 77
Volume 78
Volume 79

Clarinet recital treats crowd to familiar pieces

Published (Volume 76, No. 30)

Students, faculty and others gathered inside the Harriet Fulton Theatre at 8 p.m.  Monday evening to enjoy the talent of Michael Walsh as he performed a Faculty Clarinet Recital. Assisting Walsh throughout the evening was Elaine Harriss on the piano.

The evening began with a performance called ‘Arabesques’ by Paul Jeanjean. This piece was played with perfection and captivated the audience from the start.

“I really enjoyed the recital as a whole, but the first piece that Walsh played was definitely my favorite. I thought that he did a great job with JeanJean’s original work,” said John Sullivan, a senior from Somerville.

The next piece was Paul Harvey’s ‘Three Etudes on Themes of Gershwin.’ This selection contained three parts.

The first was the familiar piece, ‘I Got Rhythm,’ followed by ‘Summertime’ and ending with ‘It Ain’t Necessarily So.’

After a brief intermission, Walsh returned and began the ‘Grand Duo Concertant’ by Carl Maria von Weber. This piece contained three parts which were; ‘Allegro con fuoco,’ ‘Andante con moto,’ and ‘Rondo allegro.’

The last selection for the night was ‘Tango’ by Isaac Albeniz. This upbeat piece proved to be a crowd favorite and was a great conclusion to the performance.

Walsh was joined throughout the night with a clarinet choir which consisted of Kanako Ueda, Joanna Robbins, Tamia Whiteside, Erica Armstrong, Latasha Thomas, Jeannie Pritchett, Amber Summers on the B-flat clarinet and Kara Dubree and Lauren Ros on the bass clarinet.